# Merge customers

> You can combine customer profiles and quickly clean up duplicate customers. Before confirming the merge, you can review inherited information such as convers...

Source: https://help.kustomer.com/en_us/merge-customers-SksSuFLaZ

Last updated: 2026-06-22T13:37:14.142Z

You can permanently combine customer profiles to clean up duplicate customers quickly. Before confirming the merge, you can review inherited information such as conversations, event data, email, and phone numbers, keeping in mind that any data on the customer profile being merged to another **is not kept and is deleted from that profile**, and data will only remain in the new merged (parent) customer profile.

**Who can access this feature?**

**User types**

Admins and all users who have been granted merge permissions can access this.

  

### In this article

*   [Overview](#overview)
*   [Merge customers in the timeline](#merge)

### Overview

Merging customers permanently combines the details of two different customers. For example, if you have a customer that contacts you for the first time via text message and then later separately sends you an email, you can merge the two customers into one profile while retaining the full customer history.

Once two customer profiles have been merged, _this action cannot be undone_. If two profiles are erroneously merged, we recommend creating a new customer profile to decouple the information of the profile which was removed and moving all relevant conversations to that profile's timeline.

**Note:** It is not possible to unmerge customers. Since it takes extensive effort to manually decouple a customer into separate records, we highly recommend admins limit the ability to merge customers to team members that fully understand the impact of this procedure.

When you merge two customer records, the ****target**** customer survives and the ****source**** customer is removed:

*   ****Target:**** The customer record that is kept. It retains its ID, conversation history, and profile data, enriched with information from the source.
*   ****Source:**** The customer record that is merged into the target and then removed.

In a workflow, the source is the current conversation's customer, and the target is the customer matched by your search criteria (for example, an email address lookup).

### Merge customers in the timeline

The first step is to determine if the customer profiles you want to merge are actually the same customer. Look at the profile's email addresses, phone numbers, and other identifying contact details to help figure out if the profiles belong to the same person. Once you've identified the separate customer profiles, you are ready to merge the two profiles into one.

**To merge customer profiles:**

1.  Select **Customer Options**![](https://cdn.kustomerhostedcontent.com/media/570fad9d9001bc1000163b28/9cb372d8f67e85972bfbfd858c007449.png) for the first profile and then select **Merge Customer**.  
    ![](https://cdn.kustomerhostedcontent.com/media/570fad9d9001bc1000163b28/f1f0d17d5a6221f43b0a48b13f0597e4.png)
2.  Enter the name of the existing customer into which you want to merge this profile and select it from the list. In this example, we will merge a customer named _Catherine_ into an existing profile named _Catherine Smith_.  
    ![](https://cdn.kustomerhostedcontent.com/media/570fad9d9001bc1000163b28/63ca2bb6e7e3e3366f83b2dfef38a9a9.png)
3.  Select **Continu****e**. A window opens to confirm the merge and give you a closer view of the information that will be merged between the two profiles. You can view the status of these conversations by hovering over the values shown.  
    ![](https://cdn.kustomerhostedcontent.com/media/570fad9d9001bc1000163b28/2b51bc655d72bb8e348b8050a834c611.png)
4.  Select **Confirm Merge**.

After merging customers, you can change their preferred email, phone, or other contact information using the customer profile settings.

**Note:** To ensure system resources run efficiently, you cannot merge two customer timelines that have more than a combined 1000 conversation and custom objects. If your timeline can't be merged due to too many items, please manually move individual objects or conversations to the other profile before trying to merge again. For more information, see [Move a conversation](https://help.kustomer.com/move-conversations-Bk0jyBSU).

### **Verify customer merge history using the API**

To confirm whether a customer profile was merged and view merge details, use the Kustomer API.

Send a `GET` request to:

`GET /v1/customers/{customerId}/merges`

The response includes the merge timestamp, the source customer profile that was merged in, and the user who performed the merge action.

### **Merge customers using a workflow**

You can automate customer merges using the ****Merge Customers**** workflow action. When you configure this action, you specify a ****source**** customer and a ****target**** customer.

The ****target**** customer record survives the merge. The ****source**** customer record is absorbed into the target and removed. The target retains its ID, conversation history, and profile data, enriched with any additional data from the source.

To add the Merge Customers action to a workflow:

1.  From the left navigation, click ****Settings****. The Settings page opens.
2.  In the ****Settings**** page, click ****Platform****, then select ****Workflows****.
3.  Select the workflow you want to edit, or click ****Add Workflow**** to create a new one.
4.  Add a new action step. In the right panel, set ****Action App**** to ****Kustomer****.
5.  From the ****Action Event**** dropdown, select ****Merge Customers****.
6.  Configure the ****Source**** and ****Target**** customer fields using dynamic attributes from the workflow trigger.

****Note:**** The source customer is permanently removed after the merge. Verify your source and target mapping before activating the workflow.
