# Merging conversations

> If a user has two separate conversations on the same topic, you may want to permanently merge those conversations into a single continuous message. When two ...

Source: https://help.kustomer.com/en_us/merge-a-conversation-rk9wEaJBP

Last updated: 2026-04-01T20:34:16.080Z

If a customer has two separate conversations on the same topic, you can permanently merge those conversations into a single, continuous thread. When you merge two conversations, all messages and notes from both are combined and displayed in chronological order, as though they were always part of the same conversation.

Keep in mind that any data on the conversation being merged into another is not carried over — data is retained only in the merged (parent) conversation. Merging conversations also permanently changes both selected conversations. 

Merging is useful when a customer contacts your support team across multiple channels with the same question, or when a customer repeatedly emails multiple company addresses about the same issue. Merging these conversations helps clean up your support queue.

> **Note:** Merging a conversation is permanent and cannot be undone. Once conversations are combined, they cannot be separated back into their original messages.

If you need a less permanent way to relate conversations to each other, see [Linked Conversations](https://help.kustomer.com/linked-conversations-BJOmYkH5F).

### In this article

*   [Merging two conversations](#merge)
*   [Locking conversations from merging](#locking)
*   [What happens when you merge](#outcome)

### Merge two conversations

1.  Open the conversation you want to merge. In the upper-right corner of the conversation, click the **More** menu ![](https://uploads.linear.app/5cb5da62-b74f-4af5-95a2-327d7871bce0/f8256934-6992-481c-bb6a-2d850bfd8b2a/5af010a1-41c9-4132-9c6f-b1283b58139a), then select **Merge Conversation**. A list of all conversations in that customer's timeline appears.
2.  Select the conversation that you want to merge, and then click **Merge**.  
    ![](https://cdn.kustomerhostedcontent.com/media/570fad9d9001bc1000163b28/271ac60fc9c14b5ec63b5714d04b944f.png)

The merged messages appear in the conversation you merged into, organized by their original timestamps.

### Locking conversations from merging

Merge locking is a setting that can prevent a conversation from being permanently merged by any other teams or agents. Set via workflows, or the Kustomer API,  merge locking restricts the ability that reps and teams have to merge an issue.

To create a workflow that enables merge locking:

1.  In the left navigation panel, click **Settings**.
    
2.  Under **Platform**, click **Workflows**.
    
3.  [Create a new workflow](https://help.kustomer.com/en_us/workflows-overview-HJFVTZhzz) with the following configuration:
    
    1.  Set the trigger to **When a conversation is updated**.
        
    2.  Add a condition to assign the conversation to the team that requires merge locking.
        
    3.  Set the `mergeLocked` attribute to `true`.
        
4.  Click **Save**.
    

This workflow triggers when a conversation is updated and assigned to the team that requires merge locking. Once assigned, the `mergeLocked` attribute is set and the conversation cannot be merged. Other ways to use merge locking include:

*   When a conversation is updated to a certain tag. 
    
*   When a conversation involves a certain agent.
    
*   When a conversation involves customers from a specific company. 
    

> **Note:** The `mergeLocked` attribute can also be set using the Kustomer API.

When `mergeLocked` is `true`, the **Merge Conversation** option in the **More** menu is disabled.

### What happens when you merge

The channel used for any reply after a merge depends on the channel of the last message in the merged conversation. For example, if you merge an SMS conversation into an email conversation and the most recent message was received by email, your reply is sent as an email.

The table below shows additional examples of merge behavior.

Conversation Apple

Conversation Banana

Result of merging Banana into Apple

Marked Done

Marked Open or Snoozed

Conversation Apple is marked Open or Snoozed.

_Favorite Color_ attribute set to Blue

_Favorite Color_ attribute set to Red

The _Favorite Color_ attribute retains the value from Conversation Apple (Blue). The value from Conversation Banana is discard
