# Change conversation or task status

> Statuses are a way to visually indicate the current stage of a conversation or task in its lifecycle.

Source: https://help.kustomer.com/en_us/change-status-HkvUsVS8W

Last updated: 2026-07-06T19:20:47.005Z

Statuses are a way to visually indicate the current stage of a conversation or task in its lifecycle. You can use sub-statuses to customize any of the default statuses: Open, Snoozed, and Done. 

Tasks include both those created using the [Tasks app](https://help.kustomer.com/tasks-SJMJmOQp) and any other [assignable objects](https://help.kustomer.com/en_us/create-a-custom-task-BJarDuoDT) configured in your organization.

### In this article

*   [Status options](#options)
*   [Snooze a conversation](#snooze)
*   [Mark a conversation or task as done](#done)

### Status options

Conversations or tasks can have one of the following main statuses:

*   **Open**   
    Indicates that the support request is still being resolved. By default, all tasks and inbound messages are marked Open.   
      
    
*   **Snooze**  
    Indicates that the conversation or task is open and awaiting follow-up from either the customer or agent.  
      
    
*   **Done**  
    Indicates that no further action is required. This status is typically used once an agent resolves the issue. Conversations and tasks can be reopened if needed.

### **Conversation reopening behavior**

When a customer replies to an email thread associated with a Done conversation, Kustomer reopens the existing conversation. There is no time limit on this behavior — a customer can reopen an email conversation days, weeks, or months after it was marked done, as long as the email reply includes the correct threading headers.

Chat and SMS channels behave differently. These channels typically have a 24-hour inactivity window, after which a new conversation is created.

To force new conversations instead of reopening old ones for email, build a workflow that detects when a message is received on a Done conversation and creates a new conversation for the customer. See [Reopen closed conversations as new conversations](https://help.kustomer.com/en_us/creating-workflows-reopen-closed-conversations-as-new-conversations-SJwXsuFQMg). 

### Snooze a conversation or task

Snoozing a conversation allows you to specify when it will return to an _Open_ status. Select **Snooze Conversation![](https://cdn.kustomerhostedcontent.com/media/570fad9d9001bc1000163b28/967409f67733a3c5e17755cd7da587c0.png)**to see the snooze options you have available.

![](https://cdn.kustomerhostedcontent.com/media/570fad9d9001bc1000163b28/49c0cde5efd3b1e1815cb506757049fa.png)

In this example, you can snooze until:

*   2 hours from the current time.
*   Tomorrow morning at 9 a.m.
*   A custom date and time
*   The customer replies

**Note:** These options can be [customized in the Status settings page](https://help.kustomer.com/en_us/snooze-customization-rkJxHSIb). If available, you can also select a [sub-status](https://help.kustomer.com/conversation-sub-statuses-SJPuFIGPI) from the drop-down menu to explain why the conversation or task is snoozed, such as any next steps needed to progress the inquiry.

Once set, the icon changes to yellow, and the status will change to Snoozed, or whatever custom sub-status is set. You can hover over **Snooze****![](https://cdn.kustomerhostedcontent.com/media/570fad9d9001bc1000163b28/967409f67733a3c5e17755cd7da587c0.png)** to see when it is set to re-open automatically.

![](https://cdn.kustomerhostedcontent.com/media/570fad9d9001bc1000163b28/9cabf0f1b3fa43f7d22705a0653bf5c7.png)

To view the details of the snooze, select **Snooze![](https://cdn.kustomerhostedcontent.com/media/570fad9d9001bc1000163b28/967409f67733a3c5e17755cd7da587c0.png)**.

![](https://cdn.kustomerhostedcontent.com/media/570fad9d9001bc1000163b28/9972230d964c242e1bbcdfd4b082c773.png)

Here, you can **edit** the current settings or **remove** the snooze entirely. Removing the snooze will automatically change the conversation or task back to an _Open_ status.

Once a snooze expires, you will receive an email and notification reminding you about the conversation or task.

![](https://cdn.kustomerhostedcontent.com/media/570fad9d9001bc1000163b28/722c646f3451db6b2f92bb1160ca0dfc.png)

### Mark a conversation or task as done

If no further action is required on a conversation or task, select **Mark as Done![](https://cdn.kustomerhostedcontent.com/media/570fad9d9001bc1000163b28/26f23d25aab4e223fabb92f5d9c3f920.png)**to resolve and close it. If routing is configured, you'll be presented with the following top conversation from your inbox once you resolve a conversation.

![](https://cdn.kustomerhostedcontent.com/media/570fad9d9001bc1000163b28/277b074a9ebcc0e350702e05c4aaa16a.png)
